In the spring of 1982, a group of Roscommon natives met at the home of Mike Winston a native of Ballinlough for the purposes of starting a Roscommon Association in the greater Chicago area. The Association operates in the states of Wisconsin, Illinois and Indiana. Those present at the meeting were Denis Fahy, Ballinlough, Jack Mitchell, Castlerea, John McCann, Frenchpark, Michael O’Connor, Ballinameen, Jack O’Connor, Ballinameen, John Plover, Loughglynn, Dominick and Peggy Sharkey, Tibohine. A charter was drawn up and the following Officers were elected. President Michael O’Connor, Vice President John McCann, Secretary of Corporation Jack O’Connor, Treasurer Mike Winston, Secretary Peggy Sharkey. Directors: Denis Fahy, Jack Mitchell, John Plover and Dominick Sharkey. The first social event was held in September 1982 and the first Annual Dinner Dance was held on 16th March 1985 with over 200 attendees. The current President John McCann was elected in 1985. The Association organises regular monthly dances in the Irish American Heritage Center Chicago from September to January with the Annual Dinner Dance in March.

Current Officers

President. John McCann
Vice President Frank Duffy
Secretary Maura Hoey
Treasurer Pauline Scollard
Seargent at Arms Michael Geraghty
Chair of Dinner Dance Pauline Scollard

Supported By

This project received grant aid from Roscommon LEADER Partnership Rural Development Programme which is financed by the Irish Government under the Rural Development Programme Ireland 2007-2013 and by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development:Europe investing in Rural Areas.